Using Workflow Builder Versioning

Use Workflow Builder Versioning to track, manage, and update your workflows when requirements change.  


About Using Workflow Builder Versioning

After you've built and used a Workflow, your compliance requirements might change. Workflow Builder gives you the flexibility to create a new version of a Workflow to match new requirements without affecting tasks created under the original version of the workflow. This ensures that your compliance tracking remains accurate and up-to-date at all times. 

 

Creating the First Version of a Workflow

To create the First Version of Workflow:

  • Go to Utilities > Workflow Builder
  • Name your workflow.
  • Type in a Version Description (if left blank the workflow name will simply show the version number, for example (V1).
  • Select the form your Workflow should be based on, the action that triggers the workflow, if duplicate tasks should be created, and the rules of effective dates).

  • Add the tasks required by your workflow. 
  • Save the Inactive Workflow. (By default, all workflows are created in inactive mode.) 

Activate Your New Workflow Version

  • Go to Utilities > Workflow Builder.
  • Double-click the Workflow that you want to Activate.
  • Click the Activate Workflow button.

  • Click Yes to Activate the Workflow.

  • Click OK.

Tip: Once the Workflow is activated, the Activate Workflow button will switch to Deactivate Workflow.

Viewing a Previously Used Workflow

  • Go to  Utilities > Workflow Builder.
  • Double-click the existing Workflow that you would like to view.
  • If a version of the Workflow has already been triggered, you will be limited to View Only Mode or to Clone a new Version.
  • Step 1 will indicate: "Workflow has already been used x time(s) and can not be modified. To modify this version, all tasks must be deleted. Alternatively, use the Clone button to create a new version.

  • In Step 2, Click the View button to see the task details in View Only mode.

  • Click View to look at the task details in View Only mode. 

Clone a Second Version of Your Workflow

To make changes to a previously used workflow, you can use the Clone function. Having more than one version will allow you to maintain the tasks generated by the first workflow and generate new tasks according to your new version. Your new version will be disabled by default and will need to be activated.

 

To clone an existing workflow:

  • Go to Utilities > Workflow Builder.
  • Double-click the workflow that you would like to clone.
  • Click the Clone button.

  •  You will be presented with two choices:
    • Clone as a new independent workflow.
    • Create a new version of the current workflow

  • If you choose to Clone as a new independent workflow, the rules from the original version will be copied, but the workflow will operate independently. 

  • Click OK.
  • Save.
  • If you choose to create a new version of the current workflow, the system will create Version 2 (as a clone of Version 1). Version 2 will remain inactive until all changes have been completed and activated. Version 1 will continue to be active in the meantime.

  • Click OK.
  • Save.

Is Active Statuses

The Is Active Status will display 3 different statuses based on the status of the workflow.

  • Inactive.

  • Active.
  • Current Active.

New Workflow Auto Versioning 

Using workflow auto-versioning will allow you to have more control over the activating and deactivating of one or more workflows. To use these version activation options go to Utilities > Workflow Builder.

  • Click Activate Workflow.

If you have cloned Workflow versions, you will be presented with three options:

  • Activate the current version.
  • Activate all versions. 
  • Deactivate all versions. 

Inactive Version

When a Workflow is first created, it will begin in Inactive mode until the Workflow is activated.

 

Max Active Version

The Max Active Version is the active version and any new tasks will be associated with this version. A newly active Workflow can be edited when no tasks assigned. Once tasks are assigned, the workflow will be locked for any further editing.  If changes are needed after tasks are assigned, you may clone the original to create and then activate Version 2.

 

 

Not Max Active Version

When Workflow Version 2 is activated, Version 1 will remain active as the Not Max Active Version. This means any tasks assigned under Version 1 will remain valid, and new tasks will be assigned under Version 2. Version 2 will be editable until new tasks are assigned. 

 

Before:

 

After:

Note: In the Patient Task Dashboard and elsewhere, all versions of a workflow will be grouped together. 

Upgrading Assigned Workflows

To upgrade assigned Workflows, go to Utilities > Workflow Builder.

  • Select your Workflow.
  • Click View Assigned Workflows. 
  • Click Reassign to Current Version. 
  • Click Yes to upgrade the selected tasks to the version.

  • Click Yes.

Deleting Workflows

If you need to delete a Workflow and all its associated tasks go to Utilities > Workflow Builder.

  • Select your Workflow.
  • Click Delete. 
  • Click Yes to "Are you sure you want to delete this Workflow? You cannot undo this action.".
Note: In the Staff and Patient Task Dashboards, various versions of a Workflow will now be grouped under the same main Workflow
More about Workflow Builder

Getting Started with Workflow Builder

Was this information helpful?
-